For a better experience on MUBI, update your browser.

Powerful pens: Writers and readers

by Veritas Verte
Powerful pens: Writers and readers by Veritas Verte
Wit is the story of a literature professor, expert on John Donne’s metaphysical poetry, particularly his Holy Sonnets, and her experience of dying of cancer. “Death, be not proud, though some have called thee / Mighty and dreadful, for thou art not so” (John Donne, HS 10) Wit On Iris Murdoch, Irish philosopher and novelist, and her battle with Alzheimer’s, Iris. Iris On Virginia Woolf (in a way), The Hours The Hours Here are two on the French author, Marguerite Duras. L’Amant (The Lover), based on Duras’ (somewhat) autobiographical novel by the same name. For fans of Duras, Cet amour-là, based on the writings of her last lover, Yann Andrea… Read more

Wit is the story of a literature professor, expert on John Donne’s metaphysical poetry, particularly his Holy Sonnets, and her experience of dying of cancer. “Death, be not proud, though some have called thee / Mighty and dreadful, for thou art not so” (John Donne, HS 10)



Wit

On Iris Murdoch, Irish philosopher and novelist, and her battle with Alzheimer’s, Iris.


Iris

On Virginia Woolf (in a way), The Hours



The Hours

Here are two on the French author, Marguerite Duras.


L’Amant (The Lover), based on Duras’ (somewhat) autobiographical novel by the same name.

For fans of Duras, Cet amour-là, based on the writings of her last lover, Yann Andrea Steiner, a much younger gay man.


Finding Neverland

The pre-revolutionary traveling days of Ernesto “Che” Guevara are told in the journey narrative The Motorcycle Diaries. Though it is not about writing per se, it is on a writer who would change the course of Latin American history.

The Motorcycle Diaries

The Hurricane is about the fight to free boxer Rubin “Hurricane” Carter from prison, and it is also about the power of books to change lives.


The Hurricane


Quills


Dead Poets Society

“Mia Aioniotita Kai Mia Mera” (Eternity and a Day) from Kiarostami on Vimeo.

Writing and disability


The Waterdance


The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The Lives of Others and, on a lighter note, Adaptation, for the (politically) dangerous side of writing.

Read less