For a better experience on MUBI, update your browser.

Locarno 2014. Awards

Lav Diaz, Alex Ross Perry, and Pedro Costa are among this year’s big winners in Locarno.

The results are in and the two heavy favorites, Lav Diaz and Pedro Costa, have both received major awards. 

Concorso internazionale

Golden Leopard

From What is Before (Lav Diaz, Philippines)

Special Jury Prize

Listen Up Philip (Alex Ross Perry, USA)

Best Director

Pedro Costa for Horse Money (Portugal)

Best Actor

Artem Bystrov for The Fool (Yury Bykov, Russia)

Special Mention

Ventos de Agosto (Gabriel Mascaro, Brazil)

Concorso Cineasti del presente

Pardo d’oro Cineasti del presente – Premio Nescens

Navajazo (Ricardo Silva, Mexico)

Premio speciale della giuria Ciné+ Cineasti del presente

Los Hongos (Oscar Ruiz Navia, Colombia/France/Argentina/Germany)

Premio per il miglior regista emergente

The Creation of Meaning (Simone Rapisarda Casanova, Canada/Italy)

Special Mention

Un jeune poete (Damien Manivel, France)

Opera Prima

Pardo per la migliore opera prima

Songs From the North (Soon-mi Yoo, USA/South Korea/Portugal)

Special Mention

Parole De Kamizake (Sawada Masa, France)

Pardi di domani (Short Films)

Concorso internazionale

Pardino d’oro per il miglior cortometraggio internazionale

Abandoned Goods (Pia Borg & Edward Lawrenson, UK)

Pardino d’argento SRG SSR per il Concorso internazionale

Shipwreck (Morgan Knibbe, Netherlands)

Locarno Nomination for the European Film Awards – Premio Pianifica

Shipwreck (Morgan Knibbe, Netherlands)

Premio Film und Video Untertitelung

Hole (Martin Edralin, Canada)

Special Mention

Muerte blanca (Roberto Collio, Chile)

Concorso nazionale

Pardino d’oro per il miglior cortometraggio svizzero – Premio Swiss Life

Totems (Sarah Arnold, France)

Pardino d’argento Swiss Life per il Concorso nazionale

Petit Homme (Jean-Guillaume Sonnier, Switzerland)

Premio Action Light per la miglior speranza svizzera

Abseits der Autobahn (Rhona Mühlebach, Switzerland)

Prix du Public UBS

Schweizer Helden (Peter Luisi, Switzerland)

Variety Piazza Grande Award

Marie Heurtin (Jean-Pierre Améris, France)


From What is Before (Lav Diaz, Philippines)

Please to add a new comment.

Previous Features