For a better experience on MUBI, update your browser.

Sundance 2016. Awards

The complete list of award winners from this year’s Sundance Film Festival.

Grand Jury Prize
The Birth of a Nation (Nate Parker)
Directing Award
Swiss Army Man (Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert)
Special Jury Award
As You Are (Miles Joris-Peyrafitte)
Special Jury Award – Breakthrough Performance
Spa Night (Joe Seo)
Special Jury Award – Individual Performance
Morris from America (Craig Robinson)
The Intervention (Melanie Lynskey)
Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award
Morris From America (Chad Hartigan)
Audience Award
The Birth of a Nation (Nate Parker)
NEXT Audience Award
First Girl I Loved (Kerem Sanga)

Grand Jury Prize
Weiner (Elyse Steinberg, Josh Kriegman)
Directing Award
Life, Animated (Roger Ross Williams)
Special Jury Award for Editing
NUTS! (Penny Lane, Thom Stylinski)
Special Jury Award for Social Impact Filmmaking
Trapped (Dawn Porter)
Special Jury Award for Writing
Kate Plays Christine (Robert Greene)
Special Jury Award for Vérité Filmmaking
The Bad Kids (Lou Pepe, Keith Fulton)
Audience Award
Jim: The James Foley Story (Brian Oakes)

Grand Jury Prize
Sand Storm (Elite Zexer)
Directing Award
Belgica (Felix van Groeningen)
Special Jury Award for Screenwriting
Mi Amiga del Parque (Inés Bortagaray and Ana Katz)
Special Jury Award for Acting
Between Land and Sea (Vicky Hernandéz and Manolo Cruz)
Special Jury Award for Unique Vision and Design
The Lure (Agnieszka Smoczyńska)
Audience Award
Between Land and Sea (Carlos del Castillo)

Grand Jury Prize
Sonita (Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami)
Directing Award
All These Sleepless Nights (Michal Marczak)
Special Jury Award for Best Debut Feature
When Two Worlds Collide (Mathew Orzel, Heidi Brandenburg)
Special Jury Award for Best Cinematography
The Land of the Enlightened (Pieter-Jan De Pue)
Special Jury Award for Best Editing
We Are X (Stephen Kijak)
Audience Award
Sonita (Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami)

Grand Jury Prize
Thunder Road (Jim Cummings)
Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction
The Procedure (Calvin Lee Reeder)
Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction
Maman(s) (Maïmouna Doucouré)
Jury Award: Non-fiction
Bacon & God's Wrath (Sol Friedman)
Jury Award: Animation
Edmond (Nina Gantz)
Special Jury Award for Outstanding Performance
Her Friend Adam (Grace Glowicki)
Jury Award for Best Direction
Peacock (Ondřej Hudeček)

Please to add a new comment.

Latest News