Sundance 2023. Awards

The complete list of award winners from this year’s Sundance Film Festival.

A Thousand and One


Grand Jury Prize

A Thousand and One (A.V. Rockwell)

Directing Prize

Sing J. Lee (The Accidental Getaway Driver)

Audience Award 

The Persian Version (Maryam Keshavarz)

Special Jury Award: Acting

Lio Mehiel (Mutt)

Special Jury Award: Creative Vision

Magazine Dreams (Elijah Bynum)

Special Jury Award: Ensemble Cast

Theater Camp (Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman)

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award

Maryam Keshavarz (The Persian Version)

Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project 


Grand Jury Prize 

Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (Joe Brewster, Michèle Stephenson)

Directing Prize 

Luke Lorentzen (A Still Small Voice)

 Audience Award 

Beyond Utopia (Madeleine Gavin)

Jonathan Oppenheim Editing Award

Daniela I. Quiroz (Going Varsity in Mariachi)

Special Jury Award for Freedom of Expression

Bad Press (Rebecca Landsberry-Baker, Joe Peeler)

Special Jury Award: Clarity of Vision

The Stroll (Kristen Lovell, Zackary Drucker)



Grand Jury Prize 

Scrapper (Charlotte Regan)

Directing Prize 

Marija Kavtaradze (Slow)

Audience Award

Shayda (Noora Niasari)

Special Jury Award for Best Performance

Rosa Marchant (When it Melts)

Special Jury Award for Cinematography

Lílis Soares (Mami Wata)

Special Jury Award for Creative Vision

Sofia Alaoui (Animalia)

The Eternal Memory


Grand Jury Prize 

The Eternal Memory (Maite Alberdi)

Directing Prize 

Anna Hints (Smoke Sauna Sisterhood)

Audience Award

20 Days in Mariupol (Mstyslav Chernov)

Special Jury Award for Vérité Filmmaking

Against the Tide (Sarvnik Kaur)

Special Jury Award for Creative Vision

Fantastic Machine (Axel Danielson, Maximilien Van Aertryck)

Kokomo City


Audience Award

Kokomo City (D. Smith)

Innovator Award

Kokomo City (D. Smith)

Rest Stop


Short Film Grand Jury Prize

When You Left Me On That Boulevard (Kayla Abuda Gulang)

Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction

Rest Stop (Crystal Kayiza)

Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction

The Kidnapping of the Bride (Sophia Mocorrea)

Short Film Jury Award: Nonfiction

Will You Look at Me (Shuli Huang)

Special Jury Award: Animation

The Flying Sailor (Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis)

Special Jury Award, U.S: Directing

Jarreau Carillo (The Vacation)

Special Jury Award, International: Directing

Valeria Hofmann (Alien0089)

Festival Favorite Award

Radical (Christopher Zalla)

Alfred P. Sloan Prize

The Pod Generation (Sophie Barthes)

Don't miss our latest features and interviews.

Sign up for the Notebook Weekly Edit newsletter.


SundanceSundance 2023Festival CoverageAwards
Please sign up to add a new comment.


Notebook is a daily, international film publication. Our mission is to guide film lovers searching, lost or adrift in an overwhelming sea of content. We offer text, images, sounds and video as critical maps, passways and illuminations to the worlds of contemporary and classic film. Notebook is a MUBI publication.


If you're interested in contributing to Notebook, please see our pitching guidelines. For all other inquiries, contact the editorial team.