We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Rotterdam 2012. Awards

Three Tigers go to China, Chile/Netherlands and Serbia. Plus, more awards.
David Hudson
The DailySentimental Animal

Sentimental Animal

The International Film Festival Rotterdam held its 2012 awards ceremony this evening and has just announced the winners:

"The three Hivos Tiger Awards were granted to feature débuts Egg and Stone by Huang Ji (China), Hubert Bals Fund-supported film Thursday Till Sunday by Dominga Sotomayor (Chile/Netherlands) and Clip by Maja Miloš (Serbia), which also took the KNF Award of the Dutch film critics. Hubert Bals Fund-supported and competing film Neighbouring Sounds by Kleber Mendonça Filho (Brazil) took the FIPRESCI Award and Chinese film Sentimental Animal by Wu Quan was awarded by the NETPAC Jury."

And on Monday, "Makino Takashi’s Generator (Japan), Mati Diop’s Big in Vietnam (France) and Jeroen Eisinga’s Springtime (Netherlands) were awarded the three equal Tiger Awards for Short Films 2012. The jury gave a Special Mention to Charlotte Lim Lay Kuen for her short film I’m Lisa (Malaysia)."

On Wednesday, the 29th CineMart wrapped up with the announcement of the two awards for best CineMart Projects 2012: Duncharon by Athina Rachel Tsangari (Greece, Attenberg and producer of Dogtooth and Alps) won the ARTE France Cinéma Award (10,000 Euro) and first feature project Humidity by Nikola Ljuca (Serbia) took the Eurimages Co-Production Development Award (30,000). The Jury gave a Special Mention to Indian-American co-production The Lunchbox by Ritesh Batra (India).

On Thursday, a young people's jury selected the winner of the MovieSquad IFFR Award for a film in the Bright Future section: Andrew Haigh's Weekend.

Meantime, I'm still rounding up reviews and impressions from this year's edition right here.

Update, 2/5: From the latest release: "The UPC Audience Award of the International Film Festival Rotterdam 2012 goes to Philippe Falardeau's Monsieur Lazhar (Canada, 2011). The award comes with prize money of 10,000 Euro. The Dioraphte Award (also 10,000 Euro) for the highest-scoring film in the audience poll among the seventeen festival films made with support from the Hubert Bals Fund was won by Goodbye by Iranian filmmaker Mohammad Rasoulof. IFFR 2012 counted 274,000 visits to films, exhibitions, performances and events. The first Curaçao IFFR will take place from 29 March through 1 April 2012 in Willemstad; the 42nd International Film Festival Rotterdam from 23 January through 3 February 2013."

For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @thedailyMUBI on Twitter and/or the RSS feed.


Please sign up to add a new comment.


Notebook is a daily, international film publication. Our mission is to guide film lovers searching, lost or adrift in an overwhelming sea of content. We offer text, images, sounds and video as critical maps, passways and illuminations to the worlds of contemporary and classic film. Notebook is a MUBI publication.


If you're interested in contributing to Notebook, please see our pitching guidelines. For all other inquiries, contact the editorial team.