For a better experience on MUBI, update your browser.

Sundance 2014. Awards

Sundance 2014 has come to a close! The awards are in...

 U.S. Dramatic Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Whiplash, directed by Damien Chazelle

Directing Award – Cutter Hodierne, Fishing Without Nets

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award – Craig Johnson & Mark Heyman, The Skeleton Twins

Excellence in Cinematography Award – Christopher Blauvelt, Low Down

Special Jury Prize for Breakthrough Talent – Justin Simien, writer-director of Dear White People

Special Jury Award for Musical Score – Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter

Audience Award – Whiplash, directed by Damien Chazelle


 U.S. Documentary Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Rich Hill, directed by Andrew Droz Palermo & Tracy Droz Tragos

Directing Award – Ben Cotner & Ryan White, The Case Against 8

Editing Award – Jenny Golden & Karen Sim, Watchers in the Sky

Excellence in Cinematography Award – Rachel Beth Anderson & Ross Kauffman, E-Team

Special Jury Prize – The Overnighters, directed by Jesse Moss

Special Jury Award for Animation – Watchers in the Sky

Audience Award – Alive Inside, directed by Michael Rossato-Bennett


World Cinema Dramatic Competition

Grand Jury Prize – To Kill a Man, directed by Alejandro Fernández Almendras

Directing Award – Sophie Hyde, 52 Tuesdays

World Cinema Screenwriting Award – Eskil Vogt, Blind

World Cinema Cinematography Award – Urszula Pontikos, Lilting

Special Jury Prize – God Help the Girl, directed by Stuart Murdoch

Audience Award – Difret, directed by Zeresenay Berhane Mehari


 World Cinema Documentary Competition

Grand Jury Prize – Return to Homs, directed by Talal Derki

Directing Award – Iain Forsyth, 20,000 Days on Earth

World Cinema Editing Award – Jonathan Amos, 20,000 Days on Earth

World Cinema Cinematography Award – Thomas Balmès & Nina Bernfeld, Happiness

Special Jury Prize – We Come as Friends, directed by Hubert Sauper

Audience Award – The Green Prince, directed by Nadav Schirman


 NEXT and Other Awards

The Best of NEXT, Audience Award – Imperial Dreams, directed by Malik Vitthal

Alfred P. Sloan Prize – I Origins, directed by Mike Cahill

The Short Film Audience Award – Chapel Perilous, directed by Matthew Lessner

Please to add a new comment.

Latest News