For a better experience on MUBI, update your browser.

"The Artist" Tops the Independent Spirit Awards

Best Feature, Director, Male Lead and Cinematography.
The DailyThe Artist

Seth Rogen hosted the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday evening and the winners are:

Best Feature: The Artist. Also nominated: 50/50, Beginners, Drive, Take Shelter and The Descendants.

Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist). Nominated: Mike Mills (Beginners), Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive), Jeff Nichols (Take Shelter),  and Alexander Payne (The Descendants).

Best First Feature: Margin Call. Nominated: Another Earth, In The Family, , Martha Marcy May Marlene and Natural Selection.

Best Male Lead Performance: Jean Dujardin (The Artist). Nominated: Demián Bichir (A Better Life), , Ryan Gosling (Drive), Woody Harrelson (Rampart) and Michael Shannon (Take Shelter).

Best Female Lead Performance: Michelle Williams (My Week with Marilyn). Nominated: Lauren Ambrose (Think of Me), Rachel Harris (Natural Selection), Adepero Oduye (Pariah) and Elizabeth Olsen (Martha Marcy May Marlene).

Best Supporting Male Performance: Christopher Plummer (Beginners). Nominated: Albert Brooks (Drive), John Hawkes (Martha Marcy May Marlene), John C Reilly (Cedar Rapids) and Corey Stoll (Midnight in Paris).

Best Supporting Female Performance: Shailene Woodley (The Descendants). Nominated: Jessica Chastain (Take Shelter), Anjelica Huston (50/50), Janet McTeer (Albert Nobbs) and Harmony Santana (Gun Hill Road).

John Cassavetes Award, presented to a film made for under $500,000: Pariah. Nominated: Bellflower, Circumstance, Hello Lonesome,  and The Dynamiter.

Best Documentary: The Interrupters. Nominated: An African Election, Bill Cunningham New York, The Redemption of General Butt Naked and We Were Here.

Best International Film: A Separation. Nominated: Melancholia, Shame, The Kid With a Bike and Tyrannosaur.

Best Cinematography: Guillaume Shiffman (The Artist). Nominated: Joel Hodge (Bellflower), Benjamin Kasulke (The Off Hours), Darius Kondji (Midnight in Paris) and Jeffrey Waldron (The Dynamiter).

Best Screenplay: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash (The Descendants). Nominated: Joseph Cedar (Footnote), Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist), Tom McCarthy (Win Win) and Mike Mills (Beginners).

Best First Screenplay: Will Reiser (50/50). Nominated: Mike Cahill and Brit Marling (Another Earth), JC Chandor (Margin Call), Patrick DeWitt (Terri) and Phil Johnston (Cedar Rapids).

Truer Than Fiction Award: Heather Courtney (Where Soldiers Come From). Nominated: Danfung Dennis (Hell and Back Again) and Alma Har'El (Bombay Beach).

Someone to Watch Award: Mark Jackson (Without). Nominated: Simon Arthur (Silver Tongues) and Nicholas Ozeki (Mamitas).

Piaget Producers Award: Sophia Lin (Take Shelter). Nominated: Chad Burris (Mosquita y Mari),  and Josh Mond (Martha Marcy May Marlene).

 And the Robert Altman Award for one film's director, casting director and ensemble goes to Margin Call.

Update, 2/17: Viewing (15'35"). Seth Rogen's opening monologue.

2011 Awards and Lists Index. For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @thedailyMUBI on Twitter and/or the RSS feed.

I know what I’m about to say is a real no-shitter, but when there is absolutely no difference between the Oscars and the Spirit Awards, what’s the point of the latter?

Please to add a new comment.

Latest News